4 30.77%
  • Decent

2 15.38%
  • Boring

0 0%
  • Wack

0 0%
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: The Psychic World of Walter Reed (The official, non-official but better) thread

Default The Psychic World of Walter Reed (The official, non-official but better) thread

We can see what you voted for.

Gonna do something I've never done before...

I'm gonna review this as I'm listening live for the first time...

Play at 12:03

Opening...

Oh shit, I hope he got permission for that electric Company sample. Those PBS fuckers can be prickly.

Spacial atmosphere has many bells and whistles and a deep echo on KP. The lyrics seem to briefly state the album's purpose that go right into a story....Another sample at the end...followed by more spacey shit. Not a bad opener...

Shadow Landz

The beat seems to evolve and devolve into overlapping plucking sounds. The layers give the beat an interesting texture. Priest's wordplay is visually enlightening the soundscape.

New Reality

Oh man. The main looping melody is intoxicating. Priest is actually taking you on an interstellar journey on this one. Perfect meld of beat and lyric. There is an epic feeling to this. Will definitely be amongst the most talked about on the album. I think. There is still so much to go, and I'm loving the samples and transitions....

Street Thesis

You may have to adjust your treble on this one. The buzzing can definitely be a huge distraction. I get the attempt, but I think this may be a slight misstep. The hook is right though. Sounds like post modern Japanese street racing beat. Priest is the only person I know who can get away with an echo on all of these tracks. did I mention the hook is dope?

Ein Sof

^^^Can we get a translation on the title.

After all the shouting on the last hook, Priest slows it down, and raps over a much quieter and subdued beat. The simplicity allows KP's words to be the focus, and that focus is yet another indictment of modern society. Robotic delivery on the hook.