Thread: U-God interview

Banned

Default U-God interview

U-God is here to stay

The Daily Beacon had a chance to speak with U-God, born in Staten Island as Lamont Jody Hawkins. U-God was one of the original members of Wu Tang Clan; his upcoming release of "Keynote Speaker" on July 23 will mark his 21st year in the music business.

We asked him how the times have changed.

The Daily Beacon: How different is the music scene now than it was when you were with Wu Tang Clan in the mid-90s?

U-God: The scene is all about rocking. And at the end of the quarter, I know it's your job to talk about issues. And I feel like music is always going to be music, know what I'm saying? You're a journalist, I'm an artist, and I deal with sound. So the sound that you're hearing nowadays may have changed, but the content of rhyming will never change. Either you're dope, or you're not. So how I feel like it's changed? It might have gotten a little more computerized, or robotic-y, but at the same time I feel like things go in a circle. People still want to hear that raw sound, that choppy sound, that flavor that we've all sprung.

DB: Do you feel like Wu Tang Clan gets enough credit as a rap group?

U-God: No we don't. But you know why? Once you come up with that one hit record, then they'll give us our props. That's how the game is, if we don't come up with a hit record they'll probably just give us our props later on in the Hall of Fame... but as far as giving us our props? No hell no they don't give us our props. We from Staten Island, people write us off because we from Staten Island. It is what it is man. You gotta take it with a grain of salt. I'm not really looking for praise, to tell you the truth. I'm like, I just want to be remembered as like "wow, them dudes are some ill [expletive]." If I'm looking for praises all the time, that's kinda like vanity and that takes away from your powers of creation.

DB: How did you get into the music business?