Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Favorite Soul Albums?

Default Favorite Soul Albums?

Mine might be kind of cliche but whatever, Curtis by Curtis Mayfield

Just so good from top to bottom

been listening to the Sylvers and Jackson 5 a lot recently and really enjoying it, want to get more into soul. I'm honestly pretty ignorant of it as a genre especially in comparison to how much I enjoy it.
    Non Ignorants

RIP

I'm just getting into the genre so keep em coming!

De mijne is 4x duurder!

Curtis Mayfield - Superfly
    Minnie Riperton - Come to My Garden, Perfect Angel
    Anything by Barry White
    Delfonics - Pretty much any album. Check songs 'Hey Love, Didn't I Blow Your Mind, La La Means I Love You, Tell Me This Is A Dream'
    Dramatics - Just about anything again. Check songs 'Whatcha See is Whatcha Get, In The Rain, Fell For You, Hot Pants In The Summertime'
    Ann Peebles - Straight From The Heart (you'll hear some Wu samples)
    James Brown - Just DL a best of hits, he has classics for days
    Al Green - See above

Some random favorite songs: Natural High by Bloodstone, Across 110th Street - Bobby Womack, Girl Blue - The Main Ingredient, Summer Breeze - The Main Ingredient

there's a good start, there's old threads on the topic that'll have a lot more too

Banned

Isaac Hayes - ...To Be Continued & Hot Buttered Soul

The O'Jays - Back Stabbers

Bill Withers - Just As I Am

Isley Brothers - The Heat Is On

co-sign Super Fly and anything James Brown.
    Posts by The Hound are signed TH.

Quoting ≠ Agreement.

all the ones u guys mentioned, with a mega co sign on any of the delfonics first 4 albums. More recently ive been obsessed with an album i initially slept on which is Round 2 by the Stylistics.

-

Jasper Beardly, check out these albums.

The Deele-Street Beat
    Dazz Band-Keep It Live, Joystick, Jukebox
    The Time-The Time, What Time Is It
    Jesse Johnson-Jesse Johnson's Revue
    Rick James-Cold Blooded