Thread: Italian gov'ment gives every 18 yo $560

Default Italian gov'ment gives every 18 yo $560

the Italian government has decided to give every 18 year old in Italy (be they Italian or foreign) access to a new app imaginatively called 18app lol

the app acts as a currency (via downloadable vouchers) to pay for items and events mostly related to culture and is worth about $560 a person

I'm not clear on whether the 18 year olds are supposed to spend it all within one year. I would suppose not haha

things the kids can pay for with this app? books, movie tickets, concert tickets, museum tickets, but also tickets to national parks etc

this is gonna cost the government approximately $330 million for this one year

this does not mean museums, ballet companies, theater companies etc will no longer get subsidies, but of course it does mean they will get fewer direct subsidies from the government

as most of you know I work with kids for a living and personally I think this idea makes a lot of sense. not all kids have the financial means for any of these items and events. parents aren't always in favor of their kids spending even time (let alone money) on these kinds of activities. also some kids are (understandably) just not that interested in certain things like plays, exhibitions, reading etc.

I really wanna see how this turns out - since it's an app it should be easy to analyze the data involved

*will everybody youngster actually use the app?

*how long will it take on average for them to spend the whole amount?

*what will they mostly spend the money on?

*does their purchase pattern change the more they use the app (e.g. more movie tickets early on and more varied spending on concerts, exhibitions etc. later on?) or not at all?

* in a few years : what are the long term effects on kids and how they view cultural events/items? will the Italians see a slight rise in attendance of cultural events in say 2020?